Pixar’s Up: Remixed. Result: Geekgasm.

I’m “hopelessly geek-ridden.” If you had no clue, then I suspect you don’t pride yourself on wielding a keen power of observation. Maybe not even a mild one. Won’t even ask if you can guess my nationality. I’ve been a geek for as long as I can remember. Since before it was considered “cool.” I think “Star Wars” might have been the catalyst. Anyway, when a geek experiences something extremely geekish, his mind peaks and explodes in an intense fireball of geeky pleasure. Its called a “geekgasm.” I just had one. Actually, I had two.

This morning, while zipping around my newsreader, I came upon this remix video of Pixar’s “Up.” It’s the creation of Nick Bertke (a.k.a Pogo) who’s an emerging electronic music artist in Perth, Western Australia. He made this by taking chords, bass notes and vocal samples from the movie. The end result is nothing short of amazing. Accolades go to you, Pogo.

And if this wasn’t enough to make my day, I discovered he also worked his magic on “The Sword in the Stone”, which is my all time favorite animated movie. I’ll definitely keep my eye on this guy and I can’t wait for his next masterpiece.

Tags: , , , , , ,

27 Responses to “Pixar’s Up: Remixed. Result: Geekgasm.”

  1. Susi Spice Says:

    wow so many words of geek origin.. im geeked out.. hehe

  2. Alexandra Says:

    I wish those could make my day too.. Lol, weird hobbies you got, mister Siegfried! Nah, I`m jk. They’re funny.
    Happy 2010!

  3. bearmancartoons Says:

    Hmmmm…thought I responded.

    Very cool. Wonder if the words are sampled or the singer.

    • Siegfried Says:

      Yes, every bit of audio heard is taken straight from the movie. While re-sequencing the audio clips, sometimes he’ll play some sounds backwards.

      Take care and Happy 2010 Bearman.

  4. Yambo Says:

    Nice!!! Dude….love your blog. About the video, wow!!! Talented kid.

  5. frigginloon Says:

    I have been looking for my inner geek for years, I fear you may unleash it 🙂

  6. Susi Spice Says:

    do you see…so much traffic all because of me hehe

  7. jammer5 Says:

    Isn’t talent an awesome thing? Imagine life without talented people . . . like being a politician 🙂

  8. frigginloon Says:

    OK Siegfried, you need to keep posting more so we can pull the piss more…it’s the circle of life 🙂

    • jammer5 Says:

      Or just a plain circle jerk . . . take yer pick 🙂

    • Susi Spice Says:

      Ahhh loonnyyy lol i like to pull the piss no matter what..no wonder we buddies! ok blog buddies but same same… just different.. lol

  9. frigginloon Says:

    Where are you Siegfried…come out and play 🙂

  10. Susi Spice Says:

    siegfrido…. en donde estas??? queremos que salgas a jugar con nosotros!!!

Leave a Reply

